New Costa Rica Highway to the Central Pacific Coast

New Costa Rica Highway to Central Pacific Coast

Costa Rica Highway to Central Pacific Coast

The past Sunday (Jan 31, 2010) I decided to drive to the Pacific coast of Costa Rica on the brand new “Caldera Highway” expecting to drive for 50minutes all the way to Puntarenas Port, and 50 minutes back to San Jose, however I did not take into consideration that so many Costa Ricans had this exact same idea I had, and instead of the number of vehicles expected by the authorities the number was triplicated.

Yes, as you probably deduced already, it took me more than 50 minutes, but I may say I was pleased driving on an excellent carpet, well marked, good signage and although I encountered four toll-plazas along the way, I paid with no objections since I liked what I observed.

The first important difference was huge compared with the “Aguacate” road or “Cambronero” road, wide well marked lengths and wide open curves instead of the other two winy routes mentioned, although the scenery is not as picturesque as it is at the “Aguacate”, some parts of the highway have some very attractive scenarios.

In my personal opinion we have now another option to choose from, when it comes to go to the Pacific coast of Costa Rica from San Jose, just don’t forget to bring bottled water and a lot of change, since you will have to pay in the 4 toll plazas which by the way are very expedite.

I can recommend this new route to anybody  who come to Costa Rica and want to drive or just want to take maximum advantage of their time without expending it on the road.

By Johnny Viquez A.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

